See beyond disability

About

Independent Living (IL) is a vision, philosophy and movement of people with disabilities, for people with disabilities. Appearing on California university campuses in the 1970s, the movement emerged in Canada in the 1980s and has since expanded worldwide. The IL movement differs from traditional service delivery organizations in that it advocates peer support, self-direction and community integration by and for people with disabilities. It has changed the way people perceive and respond to disability.

IL is based on the right of persons with disabilities to:

  • Live with dignity in the community they have chosen ;
  • Participate in all aspects of their lives ;
  • Control their own lives by making decisions themselves.

Vie autonome Montérégie is a community service organization focused on the individual needs of people with functional limitations of any kind. We strive to empower people with disabilities and remove barriers so that people with disabilities and self-sufficiency can take risks, make choices and contribute to society as they see fit.

Working with our clients, we found that there was still a huge need for information and support for people with disabilities in the region. In order to create an environment that removes barriers that prevent people with disabilities from achieving maximum autonomy, we felt it was essential to better disseminate information about available services, programs and activities.

To learn more about our programs, services and resources, we invite you to browse our site, visit our Facebook page or contact us directly. Don’t hesitate to send us your comments so that we can continue to serve you better.

Follow us on Facebook
Proud partner of
Vie Autonome Canada Logo

Services

People with disabilities have skills, determination, creativity and a passion for living. They want to contribute to the economic, political and cultural life of their community, but obstacles continue to prevent them. These barriers are old habits, outdated laws and regulations, inflexible attitudes and other elements such as hiring, housing and customer service.

The four (4) core programs offered by Vie autonome Montérégie were created to help people with disabilities overcome these obstacles. Information and Networking (A), Peer Support (B), Independent Living Skills Development (C), and Community Research and Development (D) are programs that equip the public to look beyond disability.

Organisation - Vie Autonome services

A. Information and networking

Information is essential to making choices and informed decisions. The objective of the Information and Networking Program is to provide consumers clear and up-to-date information on available resources and options.

This program promotes the Independent Living philosophy to consumers, their families, friends and support networks, the community and governments. The transmission of information is two-fold: people with disabilities and their entourage are called upon to validate the information transmitted.

Through this interactive process and networking with all governmental organizations and institutions in the Montérégie and elsewhere, we can offer relevant and comprehensive information on a wide range of topics related to our primary objective: fostering complete self-reliance.

Call, visit or email us. Perhaps we have the answer to your question. And if we don’t have it, we’ll find it together.

B. Peer Support

In a difficult situation, who hasn’t wanted to talk to a person who has had a similar situation? Have you had an experience and can you can share the lessons learned? The peer support program is aimed at this exchange.

Peer support also gives individuals the opportunity to reduce their isolation and develop their leadership skills. In addition, this program helps them exercise their rights and assume their responsibilities.

Peer support can be offered individually or as a group, and it can be provided on a permanent basis or in a crisis situation in an environment characterized by trust and mutual respect. Peer support activities may include self-help, problem-solving and stress management.

Do you need to speak to someone who understands? Would you like to share your experience to help someone? Call us or come and meet us. Together, it’s always easier than alone.

C. Development of independent-living skills

Autonomous living can be learned! The Life Skills Development Program helps individuals defend their rights and interests, supports their choices, respects their decisions and provides an opportunity to take risks.

The program also gives people with disabilities the opportunity to learn how to deal with barriers and discrimination so that they are aware of their rights and responsibilities and have access to services and training that will enable them to live in society and contribute to it.

Vie autonome Montérégie is a bank of information and workshops designed to develop your know-how and to provide greater teaching about various items such as housing, education, transportation and employment. Call us for more information.

D. Research and community development

The Independent Living movement also seeks public recognition of the specialized knowledge of people with disabilities needed to determine what works and what does not. Information, verified and validated by consumers, is essential to the development of programs and services that benefit the entire community.

Research and community development activities include:

  • Conducting research and demonstration projects;
  • Awareness of the situation of people with disabilities;
  • Verification of accessibility of facilities and websites;
  • Crime prevention and maltreatment initiatives.

These activities may also include the development of new Independent Living models for diverse populations and environments to test new solutions and provide unique support methods adapted for local, regional and national needs.

By working together, we can identify gaps in services and create new options and solutions.

Donate

All funds are reinvested in various programs to support the autonomy of people with disabilities.

Board of Directors

  • Michel Fecteau
    President
    "Working with people with disabilities teaches us how to live every moment, remembering to sometimes ignore the perception and impressions that govern us. "
  • Michel Caron
    Vice-President
    "It's a way for me to help people with mobility problems. I wish to participate in projects that will make a difference in the lives of our members. "
  • Caroline Viau
    Treasurer
    "The journey of a disabled person can sometimes be difficult. Let’s make sure they have the tools they need to flourish and live a full life! "
  • Nathalie Dignard
    Administrator
    "My wish is to use my expertise to support our organization in the realization of projects. These projects are good for the people they help. "

Voir au-delà du handicap

À propos

La Vie autonome (VA) est une vision, une philosophie et un mouvement de personnes handicapées, pour les personnes handicapées. Apparu sur les campus universitaires de la Californie dans les années 1970, le mouvement a gagné le Canada dans les années 1980 et s’est depuis étendu dans le monde entier. Le mouvement de la VA diffère des organismes traditionnels de prestations de services du fait qu’il préconise le soutien entre pairs, l’auto-direction et l’intégration communautaire par et pour les personnes handicapées. Il a changé la façon dont les gens perçoivent l’incapacité et y réagissent.

La VA se fonde sur le droit des personnes handicapées de:

  • Vivre en toute dignité dans la collectivité qu’elles ont choisie ;
  • Participer à tous les aspects de leur vie ;
  • Contrôler leur propre vie en prenant elles-mêmes des décisions.

Vie autonome Montérégie est un organisme de services communautaires davantage axé sur les besoins individuels des personnes ayant des limitations fonctionnelles de toute nature. Nous nous employons à favoriser l’autonomie des personnes handicapées et à supprimer les obstacles afin que les personnes handicapées et autonomes puissent prendre des risques, faire des choix et contribuer à la société comme elles le désirent.

En travaillant auprès de notre clientèle, nous constations qu’il existait toujours d’énormes besoins d’information et d’appui auprès des personnes handicapées de la région. Dans le but de créer un environnement susceptible de supprimer les obstacles qui empêchent les personnes handicapées d’atteindre un maximum d’autonomie, il nous est apparu primordial de mieux diffuser l’information concernant les services, programmes et activités disponibles.

Pour en apprendre davantage sur nos programmes, nos services et nos ressources, nous vous invitons à naviguer sur notre site, à visiter notre page Facebook ou à communiquer directement avec nous. N’hésitez pas à nous faire part de vos commentaires afin que nous puissions continuer de mieux vous servir.

Suivez-nous sur Facebook
Fier partenaire de
Vie Autonome Canada Logo

Services

Les personnes handicapées ont des compétences, de la détermination, de la créativité et une passion de vivre. Elles veulent contribuer à la vie économique, politique et culturelle de leur collectivité, mais des obstacles continuent de les en empêcher. Ces obstacles sont de vieilles habitudes, des lois et règlements désuets, des attitudes inflexibles et d’autres aspects comme l’embauche, le logement et le service à la clientèle.

Les quatre (4) programmes de base offerts par Vie autonome Montérégie ont été créés pour aider les personnes handicapées à surmonter ces obstacles. Information et réseautage (A), Soutien entre pairs (B), Développement des aptitudes à la vie autonome (C) ainsi que Recherche et développement communautaire (D) sont des programmes outillant le public à voir au-delà du handicap.

Organisation - Vie Autonome services

A. Information et réseautage

L’information est essentielle pour faire des choix et prendre des décisions éclairées. L’objectif du programme Information et réseautage est d’offrir aux consommateurs de l’information claire et actualisée sur les ressources disponibles et les différentes options qui s’offrent à eux.

Ce programme fait la promotion de la philosophie de Vie autonome auprès des consommateurs, de leurs familles, de leurs amis et de leurs réseaux de soutien, de la collectivité et des gouvernements. La transmission de l’information est à double sens : les personnes handicapées et leur entourage sont appelés à valider l’information transmise.

Grâce à ce processus interactif et au réseautage avec l’ensemble des organisations et institutions gouvernementales en Montérégie et ailleurs, nous pouvons offrir des informations pertinentes et complètes sur une foule de sujets liés à notre objectif premier : favoriser la pleine autonomie.

Appelez-nous, passez nous voir ou, encore, écrivez-nous par courriel. Nous avons peut-être la réponse à votre question. Et si nous ne l’avons pas : ensemble, nous la trouverons.

B. Soutien entre pairs

Qui n’a pas souhaité, face à une situation difficile, discuter avec une personne qui a vécu une situation semblable? Vous avez vécu une expérience et vous pouvez partager les leçons tirées? Le programme Soutien entre pairs vise cet échange.

Soutien entre pairs donne aussi aux individus l’occasion de réduire leur isolement et de développer leurs aptitudes au leadership. De plus, ce programme les aide à exercer leurs droits et à assumer leurs responsabilités.

Le soutien entre pairs peut être offert individuellement ou en groupe, et il peut être assuré de manière permanente ou en situation de crise, dans un environnement caractérisé par la confiance et le respect mutuel. Les activités de soutien entre pairs peuvent notamment comprendre l’autoassistance, la résolution de problèmes et la gestion du stress.

Vous avez besoin d’échanger avec une qui peut comprendre? Vous souhaitez partager votre vécu pour venir en aide? Appelez-nous ou venez nous rencontrer. Ensemble, c’est toujours plus facile que seul.

C. Développement des aptitudes à la vie autonome

La vie autonome, ça s’apprend! Le programme de développement des aptitudes à la vie autonome aide les individus à défendre eux-mêmes leurs droits et intérêts, appuie leurs choix, respecte leurs décisions et donne l’occasion de prendre des risques.

Le programme donne aussi aux personnes handicapées la chance d’apprendre comment affronter les obstacles et la discrimination, afin qu’elles connaissent leurs droits et responsabilités et qu’elles puissent accéder aux services et aux formations qui leur permettront de vivre en société et d’y contribuer.

Vie autonome Montérégie, c’est une banque d’informations et d’ateliers destinés à développer votre savoir-faire et à vous en apprendre plus sur des thèmes variés comme le logement, l’éducation, le transport ou l’emploi. Appelez-nous pour en savoir plus.

D. Recherche et développement communautaire

Le mouvement Vie autonome vise aussi la reconnaissance par le public des connaissances spécialisées des personnes handicapées nécessaires pour déterminer ce qui fonctionne et ce qui ne fonctionne pas. L’information, vérifiée et validée par les consommateurs, est essentielle à l’élaboration de programmes et de services dont toute la collectivité bénéficie.

Les activités de recherche et de développement communautaire comprennent, entre autres :

  • La réalisation de projets de recherche et de démonstration ;
  • La sensibilisation à la situation des personnes handicapées ;
  • La vérification de l’accessibilité d’installations et de sites Internet ;
  • Les initiatives de prévention du crime et des mauvais traitements.

Ces activités peuvent aussi englober l’établissement de nouveaux modèles de Vie autonome pour diverses populations et divers milieux, afin de faire l’essai de nouvelles solutions et d’offrir des méthodes de soutien uniques et adaptées sur les plans local, régional et national.

En travaillant ensemble, on peut déterminer les lacunes des services et créer de nouvelles options et solutions.

Faire un don

Les dons sont réinvestis dans divers projets pour favoriser l’autonomie des personnes handicapées.

Conseil d’administration

  • Michel Fecteau
    Président
    « Côtoyer des personnes handicapées nous apprend comment nous devons vivre chaque instant, en se rappelant de parfois ignorer la perception et les impressions qui nous gouvernent. »
  • Michel Caron
    Vice-Président
    « C’est pour moi une façon d’aider les gens à mobilité réduite. Je souhaite participer à des projets qui feront une différence dans la vie de nos membres. »
  • Caroline Viau
    Trésorière
    « Le parcours d’une personne handicapée peut parfois être ardu, faisons en sorte de mettre à leur disposition les outils nécessaires pour s’épanouir et vivre une vie bien remplie! »
  • Nathalie Dignard
    Administratrice
    « Mon souhait est de mettre à contribution mon expertise afin d’accompagner notre organisme dans la réalisation des projets. Ces projets sont bénéfiques pour les personnes qu’ils aident. »